All Different Shapes and Sizes, with a Pillow Thrown In!

I have always been fascinated with head shapes. Maybe it is the archaeologist-wannabe in me, having been captivated by pictographs of the profiles of ancient peoples in the Egyptian and Mayan worlds when I was young. In my many travels through Mexico, I have often found myself mesmerized by the different head shapes in the various of the various cultures here- some with large, round-shaped, flat-topped heads; others with an almost Egyptian-like cone-shape on the back of their heads, and others with what can be best described as having had the back of their skull flattened at birth, so that there is a straight angle from the neck up. It kind of reminds me of my old rock collection; just as every rock comes in different shapes and sizes, so does every head. But what does that have to do with WholyFit, you ask? A lot, actually. God pointed that out to me just this morning.

Oh, yes, rocks… Like most WholyFit practitioners, I love Rock! I of course am not talking music; I am talking about my favorite posture. Rock. That simple posture of total relaxation; those precious minutes of total surrender to resting my body and lifting my thoughts in peace to my Father. Let’s face it – no matter where we live on Earth, we are all going in a million directions at once, with our busy lives, and finding time to focus on prayer, push away the clouds and the noise that muddles our brains and hear God speak to us is always a challenge. When I am restoring in Rock, I am always able to find that place…

For who is God besides the Lord? And who is the Rock except our God? It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. – Psalm 18:31-32

This morning, during my WholyFit routine, I found myself a bit distracted. Possibly because it was Monday, I thought (more likely the fact that I had neglected my morning coffee!), but I had to really push myself to concentrate more than usual. And then came time for Rock. As I wound down, focusing on relaxing every muscle, my neck started to bother me and I could not fully relax. I had to get up and grab a small pillow to put under my head which did the trick. Focusing on my God time, I asked Him what happened; where did that pain come from? Did I unconsciously do a posture incorrectly and forget to keep my neck aligned with my spine? Then God spoke. In shapes. Literally. The various shapes of the heads which have mesmerized me flashed before me, as God reminded me that He created each and every one of us unique, and that, even though I have enough of a bump in the back of my head to keep my neck aligned when in Rock, not everyone does, and to keep that in mind…

Isn’t it amazing how God uses everything to teach us something? All we have to do is listen. I probably didn’t have my neck aligned correctly with my spine during my WholyFit routine (or maybe I didn’t quite have my neck screwed on just right, for lack of caffeine J) , but God turned that around into a lesson that I needed to hear. Lessons, actually. On the homefront: my husband happens to be the neck-up-straight-angle head, so he automatically gets the WholyFit pillow J ! As an instructor: From now on, I will take along a small pillow to class as a reminder to my students, and myself, that we are all created wonderfully and uniquely – and that God wants us, and needs us, to be comfortable in Him.

May God be with you, and may you be with Him in Rock…

Sandy Thompson, WholyFit Mexico

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. How precious to me are your thoughts, God! How vast is the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand— when I awake, I am still with you. -Psalm 139:14-18

Leave a Reply

