And Then There Were 3: Roly Poly

Roly Poly smiles2

It was April 05, 2001. Oh, I will never forget that day.  Simba was about to give birth, and had given all of her nervousness to me.  A few days before, she was acting strange so I called our vet.  He told me her symptoms were bad and that she would need surgery right away.  That shook me up, but I didn’t feel that was right, so I went to work.  As I told my boss what was happening, she referred me to her dog’s vet. She said she wouldn’t trust her pets with anyone else, and that was good enough for me.  I gave the vet a call, and he reassured me that all sounded normal, and not to worry. I didn’t need to bring Simba in, unless I really felt strongly.  I ended up bringing her in that afternoon, and was very pleased with the kindness of the man who would be our vet for the next 17 years.  He didn’t even charge me for that visit.

simbababies.jpgBack to April 5th: Simba had her kittens; the first was stillborn. I cried. The next was white (we named him Gringo). Shortly after Gringo came another – a chubby little thing that rolled and rolled and wriggled around on his first day.  The name Roly Poly flew out of my mouth; it fit him perfectly! Roly and Gringo were followed by Sorpresa (surprise! She came out 6 hours after Roly), and finally Tiny (the largest of the kittens).

SimbaRoly

Simba hugging Roly Poly

Roly Poly rolled and rolled and seemed to be the happiest kitten ever. He climbed and rolled over and under his siblings; he was the first up every morning, meowing at us to pick him up. He was the first to climb out of their box.

He was the kitten who rolled his way into my heart.

We looked for homes for the kittens.  Gringo was the easiest, with his blue eyes and Siamese features.  Sorpresa and Tiny went to our friend Pat; Vidal asked who was going to adopt Roly Poly…

I, of course, said we were keeping Roly.  Vidal said we already had 2 cats- we don’t need another. Absolutely not. End of story.  I knew better; Roly Poly had stolen his heart as well.

Vidal of course gave in, and our family was complete.

Roly Poly was the happiest of kitties his whole life. He kept up laughing with his antics for 14.5 years. He was our little boy, our super Kitty, our baby boy. Our happy-go-lucky Roly Poly!

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  Psalm 139:13

For you make him most blessed forever; you make him glad with the joy of your presence.  Psalm 21:6

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.   Matthew 5:8

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness…  Galatians 5:22

 

Leave a comment